The four track EP will be available on 23 February 2018

London based singer songwriter Fifi Rong will release a new EP titled Awake on 23 February 2018.

Known for integrating Chinese influences with western pop music, Fifi Rong excels in pushing the boundaries of cross genre music. Whilst her iconic sound stems from traditional Chinese influences, Rong’s most recent single, ‘The One’, explored reggae and dub influences.

“I like to challenge people’s musical taste buds and boggle the conventional minds that tend to pigeonhole things,” Rong said in a press release.

Her latest EP, Awake, offers four new tracks that continue Rong’s unique and versatile style. “Awake is about waking up to the truth after you have hypnotised yourself and deconstructing the paradoxes of human nature: subordination and rebellion, pain and joy, self-limitation and liberation,” Rong said.

Awake is released independently and was supported by Rong’s loyal fan base through Pledge Music.

All songs on the EP were written and produced by Rong, except ‘Attack’, which was co-written with Nick Ford. Title track  ‘Awake’ was mixed by Max Dingel, whose credits include Goldfrapp, The Killers, White Lies and Muse amongst others.

Track listing:

  1. ‘Awake’
  2. ‘Attack’
  3. ‘Horizon’
  4. ‘Sin City’

The EP will be available through pre-release is on 16 February 2018 via Pledge Music and will be officially released through all major online stores and streaming platforms on 23 February 2018.